Gov.-Elect Pritzker, Lt. Gov.-Elect Stratton Announce Committee on Equality, Equity, and Opportunity

Gov.-Elect Pritzker, Lt. Gov.-Elect Stratton Announce Committee on Equality, Equity, and Opportunity

Governor-elect JB Pritzker and Lieutenant Governor-elect Juliana Stratton announced the formation and members of the transition’s Committee on Equality, Equity, and Opportunity.

The committee is the fourth of several working groups of the transition made up of subject-matter experts who will advise and guide the incoming Pritzker-Stratton administration. The Committee on Equality, Equity, and Opportunity will be chaired by Access Living President and CEO Marca Bristo, Casa Central interim President and CEO Marty Castro, and Pride Action Tank Executive Director Kim Hunt and consist of 25 members.

“JB and I are committed to building an inclusive administration that’s representative of the state we serve, and our transition team will start by listening to the communities across Illinois who haven’t been heard or who’ve experienced systemic disinvestment,” said Lieutenant Governor-elect Juliana Stratton. “The Committee on Equality, Equity, and Opportunity will tackle civil rights issues in our state and work to ensure Illinois can protect children and families from dangerous policies from the federal government. Illinois is a welcoming state for all, and JB and I are committed to making sure every resident has access to opportunity and the tools they need to thrive.”


Marca Bristo co-chairs the transition’s Committee on Equality, Equity, and Opportunity and is president and CEO of Access Living, one of the first 10 federally-funded centers for independent living in the United States. As the former president of the National Council on Independent Living, she worked with the broader civil rights community on the Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1987, the Fair Housing Amendments Act of 1988, and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. Bristo served as the Presidentially-appointed chairperson of the National Council on Disability from 1994-2002. She is the most recent emeritus President of the United States International Council on Disabilities and is a member of Human Rights Watch Disability Advisory Committee and Obama Foundation Inclusion Council. Bristo serves on the Boards of Rush University Medical Center, Forefront, and the RIC Foundation.

Marty Castro co-chairs the transition’s Committee on Equality, Equity, and Opportunity and is the interim CEO of Casa Central, one of the largest Latino social service agencies in the Midwest, and CEO of Castro Synergies, a social impact consulting firm. Castro was appointed chair of the United States Commission on Civil Rights by President Barack Obama and was the first Latino in U.S. history to hold that post. He also served as Chairperson of the Illinois Human Rights Commission during the Quinn Administration. Castro is active locally and globally on issues of social justice and is on the Board of Directors of the National Museum of Mexican Art, the Chicago Latino Theater Alliance and the Global Diplomacy Lab, and he is a member of the BMW Foundation’s Responsible Leaders Network.

Kim Hunt co-chairs the transition’s Committee on Equality, Equity, and Opportunity and is the executive director of the Pride Action Tank, a project of the AIDS Foundation of Chicago, where she also serves as the senior director of Policy and Advocacy Operations. Hunt’s career spans the public, private, and nonprofit sectors with a focus on advocacy, community and organizational development, and leadership. She is the former executive director of Affinity Community Services, a social justice organization that works with and on behalf of Black LGBTQ people and queer youth. Prior to Affinity, she co-founded and served as managing partner of O-H Community Partners, a management and strategy consulting firm. Hunt has been inducted into the Chicago LGBT Hall of Fame.

Jaquie Algee, Board Member, Women’s March Chicago

Tom Balanoff, President, SEIU Local 1

Lawrence Benito, CEO, Illinois Coalition for Immigrant and Refugee Rights

John Bouman, President, National Sargeant Shriver Center on Poverty Law

Terry Cosgrove, President and CEO, Personal PAC

Ami Ghandi, Director of Voting Rights and Civic Empowerment, Chicago Lawyers’ Committee for
Civil Rights

Teresa Haley, President, Illinois State Conference NAACP

Chris Harris, Senior Pastor, Bright Star Church

Brian Johnson, CEO, Equality Illinois

Andy Kang, Executive Director, Asian Americans Advancing Justice

Theresa Mah, State Representative, Illinois General Assembly

T. Ray McJunkins, Senior Pastor, Union Baptist Church

William McNary, Co-Executive Director, Citizen Action

Ronald E. Powell, President, UFCW Local 881

Jan Schakowsky, Congresswoman, U.S. House of Representatives

Rebecca Shi, Executive Director, Illinois Business Immigration Coalition

Rabbi Michael Siegel, Senior Rabbi, Anshe Emet Synagogue

K. Sujata, President and CEO, Chicago Foundation for Women

Griselda Vega Samuel, Midwest Regional Counsel, MALDEF

Bishop E.L. Warren, Founder, Cathedral of Worship

Rev. Janette Wilson, Esq., National Director of PUSH Excel, Rainbow Push

Tom Yates, Executive Director, Legal Council for Health Justice